Mesty Croft Academy

Believe and Achieve

Search
Translate

Year 3

Welcome to Year 3!

 

Welcome to Year 3 and to the start of Key stage 2!

 

This is an excellent opportunity for us to build on all the great things that you did in Key Stage 1. We will be immersing ourselves in a range of compelling texts and exploring a world of new vocabulary, unlocking language. You will be excited to become the best writers and mathematicians you can be.

 

Each half term we will have a new focus in Science, Art, Music, Geography, History, RE, PHSE, D&T and French. You'll be broadening your knowledge base and developing a wide variety of concepts and skills.

 

Thank you for your continued support,

Miss Markham-Randall, Mrs Gallagher and the Year 3 Team

These are the days we have PE:

 

Class 7: Tuesdays

Class 8: Wednesdays

Useful websites

One School: One Book

This week we have all explored the book 'The Tin Forest'. We have completed a range of activities related to this text.

At the start of the week we found a silver box in the classroom with lots of different objects inside:

Here are some of the art activities that we completed:

 

Leaves wrapped in silver foil to create imprints
Toucans
Origami cats and leaf rubbings

Home Learning work

Model of the Tin Forest made by Renee
Year 3 Home Learning

Any work that children complete can be emailed to their class teachers using the following email addresses:

 

Miss Markham-Randall: class7@mestycroft.sandwell.sch.uk
Mrs Gallagher: class8@mestycroft.sandwell.sch.uk

 

Work that you wish your class teacher to see, may be completed electronically, or simply a photograph. We will provide individual feedback to you and can also answer any questions/queries that you may have. We we ask that you give us up to 24 hours to respond to your work/questions, as we may not immediately be available to you.

This is an unusual time for us all, but we encourage children to continue their learning at home with the support of both yourselves and accessing their class teacher's support remotely.

 

Thank you for your continued support.

Home Learning Friday 18th September 2020

Home Learning Friday 11th September

Home Learning Friday 4th September

 

The Year 3 team hope you have had a lovely week and you have enjoyed some summer sun. Mrs Fitzgerald and Miss Smith have been busy preparing more learning, but we have also had chance to capture a few photos from home to share with you.

Miss Smith has been learning how to bake a little bit better and enjoying some gardening. Mrs Fitzgerald has been enjoying some family time with her two daughters and getting some much-needed fresh air.

 

Home Learning slides start again Monday 1st June, so please do what you can and email in your work. We can’t wait to hear from you all.

 

Keep smiling,

Year 3 Team

Friday 22nd May 2020

Thursday 21st May 2020

Wednesday 20th May 2020

Tuesday 19th May 2020

Tiny the T-Rex | A Cosmic Kids Yoga Adventure!

Have fun!

Wow Work! Monday 18th May 2020

Monday 18th May 2020

Wow work Thursday 14th May

Monday 11th May 2020

Maths Challenge 11th May

Friday 8th May VE Day

Thursday 7th May 2020

Wednesday WOW Work!

Wednesday 6th May 2020

Maths Challenges Wednesday 5th May

Tuesday 5th Wow Work!

Tuesday 5th May 2020

Diary Writing Task

Monday 4th May WOW Work

Monday 4th May 2020

Maths Sheet Monday 4th

Extra Maths Support: Powerpoint Lesson

Bigger Version

WOW Work! Thursday 30th April 2020

WOW Work! Tuesday 28th April 2020

WOW Work! Friday 24th April 2020

Friday 24th April 2020

WOW Work! Thursday 23rd April 2020

Thursday 23rd April 2020

WOW Work! 22.04.20

Wednesday 22nd April

Wednesday Maths

Tuesday 21st April 2020

Monday 20th April 2020

Maths for Monday 20th April 2020

David Walliams Reading on his Website...visit now!

 

 

Well done Year 3, you have completed 2 weeks of home learning!  A big thank you to all the children and parents that have emailed in their work, it has been lovely to see and respond to.

 

Now the Easter holidays are here, we have an ‘Egg-citing’ Easter challenge for you to complete. It is a range of fun activities to do at home with the family. Once you complete the tasks, tick them off your checklist. You can email pictures of your activities at the end of the holidays to our class email.

There isn't a requirement to email in everyday but you need to share the evidence by email at the end of the 2 weeks. There is also a PDF version of the challenge beneath the picture below, if you would like to print it out.

 

Have fun, stay at home and stay safe!

 

From the Year 3 Team.

Happy Easter from the Year 3 Key worker children

Still image for this video

The farmyard- a film by Will

Still image for this video

Friday 3rd April

Wow!

Thursday 2nd April

Wow Work!

Wednesday 1st April

Tuesday 31st March

Monday 30th March 2020

Super Healthy Sandwiches 26/3/20

Thursday 26th March 2020

Wow Work 25/3/20

Wednesday 25th March 2020

Wow Work 24/3/20

Tuesday 24th March 2020

23/3/20 WOW Work

Monday 23rd March 2020

Story for Children

 

Daily P.E with Joe

 

 

 

Monday – Friday 9am Live on Youtube. 

The workouts will be fun and suitable for all ages and even adults can get involved. If you miss P.E with Joe at 9am check out his Youtube channel where you will find a variety of children’s workouts to do at home.  

 

https://www.youtube.com/user/thebodycoach1

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLyCLoPd4VxBvPHOpzoEk5onAEbq40g2-k

Maths Party!!

CBBC Newsround (9.15am, 12.10pm and 4.00pm Daily)

Home Learning Packs for children:
The packs below are not compulsory, they are there to provide extra work and learning projects if you want them. 
Top